Skip to Content

Four former major champions no longer in DICK’S Sporting Goods Open field

BINGHAMTON (WBNG) – Mark O’Meara, Jose Maria Olazabal, Corey Pavin and Craig Stadler are no longer playing in the 2018 DICK’S Sporting Goods Open. The four golfers have six combined major championships between them. O’Meara is a two-time major champion. Olazabal is a two-time Masters champion. Pavin is a former U.S. Open Champion. Stadler is a former Masters champion. All four were listed on the first field released on June 15, but were not on the official field released Friday. 

John Daly, Bob Estes and eight of the eleven former DICK’S Open Champions are in the DSGO field and tournament director John Karedes tells 12 Sports, this could be the year there is finally a repeat champion. 

"I just think that there are so many great players on our tour, that each and every year, someone different has risen to the top," said Karedes. "And we’ll see, Scott McCarron, a great defending champ, it looks like he is trending upwards right now. So who knows, this year could be the first year we have a defending champion repeat."

The first round of the DICK’S Sporting Goods Open tees off Friday, August 17. 

"Like" Larry Burneal on Facebook and "Follow" him on Twitter.


Skip to content