Skip to Content

Alliance of American Football debuts

BINGHAMTON (WBNG) – Sunday capped off the first weekend without football since the end of the summer but if you miss the sport don’t worry, the Alliance of American football league debuted over the weekend.

The AAF is a new football league with eight inaugural teams and there were two games Saturday and two more on Sunday. The original teams come from San Antonio (Commanders), San Diego (Fleet), Orlando (Apollos), Atlanta (Legends), Birmingham (Iron), Memphis (Express), Salt Lake (Stallions) and Arizona (Hotshots).

The rules are exciting and some would argue a bit more laid back than the NFL. Possessions begin on the 25 yard line and there are no point after tries. Teams must attempt a two point conversion after each touchdown. There are certainly a lot less penalties too.

The league has a bunch of notable players and coaches like former Jets and Giants quarterbacks Christian Hackenberg and Josh Johnson. Other former players include Trent Richardson, Aaron Murray, NIck Novak, Bishop Sankey and a lot of others.

The league is set to continue to play on Saturdays and Sunday throughout the Spring.

“Like” Larry Burneal on Facebook and “Follow” him on Twitter.

“Like” Jacob Seus on Facebook and “Follow” him on Twitter.

Jacob Seus

Skip to content