Skip to Content

Cuomo: Movie theaters may reopen

Remaining Ad Time Ad - 00:00


(WBNG) -- Governor Andrew Cuomo announced a list of counties where movie theaters cannot reopen.

The counties include:

  • Allegany
  • Broome
  • Cattaraugus
  • Chautauqua
  • Chemung
  • Cortland
  • Greene
  • Orange
  • Rockland
  • Schuyler
  • Steuben
  • Tioga

Governor Cuomo said movie theaters that are allowed to open will require masks to be worn, except for when eating, and assigned seating and social distancing will be enforced.

Additional staffing will be necessary to ensure the new rules are being upheld, and enhanced air filtration, ventilation and purification standards must also be met.


(WBNG) -- Governor Andrew Cuomo announced movie theaters outside of New York City may reopen at 25% capacity with up to 50 people per screen.

During a briefing, Governor Cuomo said some counties will not be able to open their theaters yet, including a few in the Southern Tier. A list of eligible counties will be released soon.

Cuomo said counties that are below 2% on a 14-day average and have no cluster zones may reopen. He said people must be wearing masks at all times except when seated and eating or drinking.

Cuomo said assigned seating and social distancing between parties will be required at all times.

He also said additional staffing is necessary to control theater occupancy, traffic and seating to ensure compliance. Theaters must meet enhanced air filtration, ventilation and purification standards.


Skip to content